Journalist, interviewer, writer, BBC Radio 4 documentary maker, arts critic, events host, prize judge, lecturer, professional Welsh person, romantic, geek. Writing regularly published in the Observer, Guardian, Radio Times, Hole & Corner, Supplement, The Pool, The Quietus, Caught By The River and more. Email me if you fancy.

Latest Work


Doorstepping, Radio 4 series about what homes means to us in 2017, available now on iPlayer

“a very moving listen” – David Hepworth, The Guardian
“a voice of its own” – Gillian Reynolds, The Daily Telegraph
“deeply emotional… a poetic voyage of discovery” – Nuala McCann, Irish Times

Why I visited my old homes, Sunday profile on Harry Styles, interviews with Min Kym, Public Service Broadcasting, Thurston Moore and Alex Neilson, features on Saint Etienne and the Pet Shop Boys, and weekly folk music reviews for the Observer New Review and The Guardian

Live Q&A interviews with Shirley Collins at the Green Man Festival in Wales, bestselling beauty writer Sali Hughes in Waterstones Cardiff, and author Laura Barnett with musician Kathryn Williams in London at the Green Note, London

Radio Times cover story with Paul Merton

Over The Border column about moving to the Welsh Borders for Caught By The River

New Order live at the Manchester International Festival for The Quietus

Interviews with Arts of Noise and Proms composer Hannah Kendall in the current issue of Hole & Corner, and Alexis Taylor in the current issue of Supplement

Cosey Fanni Tutti memoir review in the New Statesman

Back Catalogue

Standalone documentary The Shock, broadcast April 2017, Radio Times, Guardian and Radio 4 Pick of the Week.

Cover story interviews include Paul McCartney (Q), Adele (The Gentlewoman), Claire Danes (Marie Claire), Rosamund Pike (In-Style), Robert Plant, Paul Weller (The Word), Ellie Goulding (Cosmopolitan) and Zoe Ball (Red). Other substantial interviews include Helen Mirren (The Daily Telegraph),Shirley Collins (Sunday Times Culture), Louise Mensch, Aaron Taylor-Johnson (The Times Saturday Review), Björk, Kylie Minogue, Pet Shop Boys, the xx (New Statesman), Michael Stipe, Damon Albarn, Noel Gallagher (The Quietus), Justin Timberlake (Elle), Chiwetel Ejiofor, Kerry Washington, Helen McCrory (Marie Claire), Dolly Parton (Stool Pigeon), Tony Bennett, Tony Benn, Lily Allen, Joan Baez, Arcade Fire (The Word).

Currently judge of the Nordic Music Prize. Judge of the Mercury Music Prize for six years, and the Scottish SAY Album of the Year Award, the Welsh Music Prize and the Penderyn Book Prize. Also r
egular TV/radio pundit for BBC2 & BBC4 (including The Joy Of ABBA, The Joy of Easy Listening, When Pop Went Epic: The Crazy World of the Concept Album), ITV (Dispatches), Channel 4 (The Story of Adele) Radio 4, 5Live, 6 Music and Radio Wales.